I’m obsessed with this song.

7 Jul

If I had a shred of song writing talent I’d like to think that this is what I would have written since “they” tell you to write about what you know.

Edie Brickell – Waiting for Me

you call me up on a saturday night
half intoxicated with a crazy bunch of guys
say you’re at a party and i really oughta come
then you hold the phone up so that i can hear the hot drum beat

if you’re waiting for me
you’ll be waiting for a long time

i don’t wanna leave the heart of fun and happiness
i don’t wanna walk away from love and tenderness
i’ll be on the sofa watching rented videos
i’ll be getting closer to the one who satisfies my soul

if you’re waiting for me
you’ll be waiting for a long time

i have up and changed my ways
things will never be the same

it isn’t like i’m missing out on anything tonight
happy as can be i got my babies by my side
one day i will turn around and they will all be grown
the they will be going out and won’t be staying home with me

if you’re waiting for me
you’ll be waiting for a long time

i have up and changed my ways
things will never be the same

Leave a Reply

