More nursing stuff.

15 Feb

I swear this isn’t all I talk about in real life but it’s been consuming me these past couple of weeks.

Things are getting a LOT better.  Since my post last week we’ve had a handful of good nights, one not so great night then last night.  6 hours of sleep IN A ROW.  I’ll get to that in a minute.

I had decided to loosely follow Jack Newman’s night weaning plan.  And when I say loosely what I mean is I read in about a year ago and am solely operating on instinct + what my poor pea brain retained from my past readings.  I decided that I would nurse MC to sleep then again at his first wake up which is usually between 10 and 11 then not again until after 5 am.  Naturally, the boy came up with a plan of his own. 

He’s opted to NOT nurse to sleep 3 of the past 6 nights.  On Sunday he nursed when he woke up but that was it for the entire day.  He did not nurse to sleep last night but he did want milk when he woke around 11:15.  I didn’t hear from him again until 5:45.  Let me repeat: SIX HOURS OF UNINTERRUPTED SLEEP. 

I can’t put into words how excited I am.  We’re taking baby steps but I feel like with this little nudge from me he’s really getting into a good sleep groove, finally.  I cannot lie, I love rocking the boy to sleep.  He nestles his head so sweetly on my chest and clutches both his blanket and his grinch close to him. It’s heaven.

I think that for the most part we’re done with daytime nursing.  It’s bittersweet, of course but it’s nice to not have to worry about the teeth.  I’m not committed to being done – it he asks he can nurse but he hasn’t.  I hope he sticks with the morning nurse – I love that time with him.  He wakes so happy and giggly and silly.  It’s a joy.

Leave a Reply

