Sort of night weaning. Sort of.

8 Feb

I’ve been complaining about MC killing my poor nipples for roughly 5 months now.  Seriously people – it’s awful.  It tends to happen at night when we’re both too tired to really monitor his latch.  Friday night was awful.  He clamped down HARD on the left side and the right side already had a bad, bleeding crack so I decided then and there (at 10:30 pm) that it was time to quit griping and actually do something about this.  Living in fear of nursing your baby is no way to be.

I nursed MC to sleep on Saturday.  He woke around 11:30 and I didn’t/couldn’t nurse him.  He was awake for 4 long hours and was ANGRY.  He fell asleep in my arms around 3:30 and slept until 8:30 am.  Thank goodness.  We nursed when he woke up and he was perfectly happy and didn’t seem to be holding a grudge.  Interestingly he did not nurse prior to his nap and he slept for almost 3 hours.

I nursed him to sleep Sunday night.  He woke at 10:30 for some milk and went back to sleep.  Woke again at 1:30 and I told him no.  He was slightly less angry and finally went to sleep in my arms after 2 hours.  Woke again at 8 am, smiley and happy.  We nursed again. 

We played hard Monday morning.  He fell asleep in the car, transferred into his crib and slept for about 2.5 hours (yay!).  I nursed him to sleep and nursed him again at 11 pm.  He woke at 3:00 and was only up for 10 minutes.  He fell asleep next to me in bed, no nursing.  Woke this morning at 7 or so, nursed happily and all is right with the world.

My nipples are still cracked but no more bleeding.  His latch is a LOT better now that we’re both coherent when we’re nursing.  I’m hoping that he’ll stop waking at 3 am over the next couple of weeks – getting a solid stretch of more than 3 hours of sleep will be heavenly!

Leave a Reply

