MC’s birth story

18 Nov

With his impending first birthday and This Post from Baby Rabies I’ve been spending a fair amount of time thinking about the day he was born.

MC was born on Saturday, November 28. Just a couple of days after Thanksgiving. I joked with the midwives that they could be sure that I’d start active labor just as soon as they sat down with a big ol’ plate of turkey.

My biggest worry was MM, of course. I went into labor with her in the middle of the night and assumed that the same thing would happen with MC. Who would we call to stay with her? How scared would she be if she woke up and Mama & Daddy weren’t there. The only acceptable solution I could come up with was to have my sister come out a couple of days before my EDD (just in case. I never expected to go early or even on time. We just don’t do that in my family.). My sister works but gets a nice break for Thanksgiving. My MIL planned to arrive the day she was supposed to leave in the event I went overdue. Problem solved. In my mind, the ideal scenario would be to have the baby a couple of days after Michele (my sister) arrive so MM would have chance to get to know her. Michele (and her youngest boy) arrived on Thanksgiving Thursday, MC was born on Saturday. He was very accommodating.

Prior to is birth our morning routine consisted of MM waking up then coming downstairs to eat breakfast on my lap in my bed while we watching an episode of Curious George or Sesame Street. Disrupting this was my biggest worry when it came to having a baby. I *loved* that time with her. She snuggled so sweetly and we would chat about things. It was precious time to me.

I had some pretty strong contractions Friday night and figured something was going to happen soon. I attempted to get a good nights sleep but anyone who has ever been pregnant knows what that’s like. I woke up (for good) Saturday morning aroun 6 am and things were moving. MM came down and had her usual breakfast on my lap. I don’t remember what we talked about buy by around 7:30 am I couldn’t sit with her on my lap anymore. I remember knowing that that was our last breakfast, just the two of us. I sent Dad out of the room so I could soak in her baby-ness one last time before she morphed into a giant lumbering baby-squishing toddler. I told her that we were going to wake up Aunt Shell soon and that mama and daddy were going to go get her baby. She didn’t care 🙂

I called my midwife around 8 am and told her that I was definitely in labor and that I was going to finish packing my bag and wrap things up at home. We left for the birth center and MM & her aunt and cousin took off for the nature center. We got to the birth center around 9:30. The midwife on call checked me out and then let me get into the tub. MM was posterior and the contractions hurt like a bitch. Luckily I was able to drape myself over the tub in such a way that he was able to descend and turn in the proper direction (again, how accommodating!). We had made arrangements beforehand to have MC’s birth photographed if possible. I texted our photographer to tell her that we were at the birth center. Things progessed very quickly once we got there. She barely made it. Slideshow is here if you’re interested.

MC was born and was perfect. I was dying to get home – I missed MM desperately. We checked out of the birth center around 6 pm and drove home as quickly as we could. I was exhausted and wanted to get into bed right away. I remember climbing in with the baby and MM following me. She climbed up onto the bed too and asked “Mama, do two babies!”. Even today, that means that she wants me to hold both of them together.

My heart burst. Seeing their two heads together made all of the guilt, worry and nerves disintergrate a bit. I’m not saying that it has been easy and that I don’t still feel pangs of guilt for one reason or another but seeing my two babies interact fills my heart over and over again. MM still thinks of MC as “our” baby and she’s fiercely protective of him. MC lights up when he sees his sister’s face. His first word was a bastardized version of her name.

Having two babies 22 months apart hasn’t been easy. My PPD was much harder to deal with. I missed MM so much during the first couple of weeks when MC needed near constant nursing. I was afraid that breastfeeding would be as hard with him as it was with her but luckily it wasn’t. I still tear up multiple times a week when I catch them doing something extra cute or sweet with each other. I barely remember what it was like to only have one. MM doesn’t remember the days when she was my only.

Gah. Should have brought tissues to work today. This stroll down memory lane has totally wrecked me.

Leave a Reply

